The Shallow Depth

A stagnation unlike any other
Trudging through a swamp
Barely moving
Slowly coming to halt
The murky depths began to claim me
Little by little
My body and soul sank
The dark water embracing me
With the little strength I had
I struggled to the surface for air
Each trip got harder
Maybe I didn’t need the air
Maybe the darkness could have me
That light inside
Where the Spirit resided
Only reason I was barely holding on
Till I noticed
There was someone else there
When did she get here
Why did the tug of the waves
Feel lighter?
I was still stuck in the swamp
But she was there
Helping
She was around
She spoke to me
She understood me
She encouraged me
She
Well she gave me a reason to live again
A reason to move forward
A gift I can’t ever repay
So I’ll give her everything
She knew what I was
She accepted me
How badly did she want me to fall in love
How badly did she want to ruin me for everyone else
She surely got her wish
I was hers
And  only by God’s love
She was mine
Now I’m still in the waters
But I’m fighting
I’m trying
For God
For her
For myself
I’ll be good
She’ll be here

Leave a comment